Board of Directors

Steven Kelly

President and C.E.O.

Steven Kelly has been employed as general manager for One Earth Energy since September 2007. Previously, Mr. Kelly was the general manager of Alliance Grain Co., a position he held since January of 1988. Alliance Grain is a locally owned cooperative with 12 elevators in 11 communities. He also serves as general manager for Bloomer Shippers Connecting Railroad. The Bloomer Line Railroad operates 45 miles of track within the Alliance Grain Co. territory. Mr. Kelly served as a director for One Earth Energy until September 2007 when he became employed by the Company.

Zafar Rizvi


Zafar Rizvi has been a director of One Earth Energy, LLC, since June of 2007. Mr. Rizvi is President and Chief Operating Officer of REX American Resources Corporation (NYSE:REX). Previously, Mr. Rizvi served as a vice president for REX Stores Corporation, most recently overseeing the Company's alternative energy interests. REX Stores Corporation became REX American Resources Corporation effective June 10, 2010. Mr. Rizvi also serves as the President of Farmers Energy Incorporated, a wholly owned subsidiary of REX. Currently, Mr. Rizvi serves on the board of directors of several ethanol companies. Mr. Rizvi holds a B.A. in Economics from Punjab University in Pakistan, an H.N.D. in Business Studies from City of London Polytechnic in England and an M.B.A. from the University of Phoenix.

Ben Kurtenbach

Chief Financial Officer

Ben Kurtenbach has been employed by One Earth Energy since April of 2010.  He has served as Chief Financial Officer since July of 2022.  Prior to this Mr. Kurtenbach was Plant Accountant from 2010 to 2015 and Controller from 2015 to 2022.  Prior to joining One Earth Mr. Kurtenbach was also an Accountant for Wend Colorado LLP.  Mr. Kurtenbach holds a B.A in Finance from Illinois State University and an M.B.A. from The University of Colorado.

Jack Murray

Secretary / Treasurer and Director

Jack Murray runs a farming operation in Champaign, Illinois and has done so since May of 1978. He served as board president for Fisher Farmers Grain and Coal, and was on that board for a total of 21 years. Fisher Farmers Grain and Coal merged with Grand Prairie Cooperative to become Premier Cooperative. Mr. Murray now serves as board president for Premier and has served on One Earth Energy's board of directors since its inception.

Patrick Quinlan


Patrick Quinlan and his wife Joyce operate a cash grain farm in Ludlow, Illinois and have since 1980.  He currently serves on the Boards of Ludlow Cooperative Elevator Company and Ludlow Fire Protection District.   He has served as the representative of Ludlow  Coop since June 2016.

Tim Hughes


Tim Hughes has served as the CEO of Premier Cooperative since February 2021. Premier is a leading grain and fuel cooperative in Central Illinois. Prior to accepting the CEO position, Tim spent a total of 14 years as the GM and President of United Prairie. He continues to serve United Prairie as a Director.  Additionally, he has held various sales and management positions for United Suppliers, Pioneer Hi-Bred, and Cargill Inc. He received his Bachelor of Science in agronomy from the University of Illinois. Tim has served as a director since March 2021.


Derrick Bruhn


Derrick has been the general manager since April 2020.  Prior to being named general manager he was the merchandising manager for Topflight Grain Cooperative since 2004.  Derrick has been employed with Topflight since 2001.  Derrick’s duties include overseeing all aspects of the company and he reports to the BOD of Topflight Grain Cooperative.  In addition to those responsibilities, he is active in the company’s independent futures brokerage and crop insurance offerings.

Derrick began his career in the grain industry with ADM in June 1997.   He grew up in Litchfield, Illinois, and received his bachelor’s degree from Illinois College in Jacksonville, Illinois.  Derrick and his wife, Lynne, reside in Monticello, with their two daughters.



Phillip Moritz

Direct & Officer Vice President